As one of the five pillars of the Criminal Justice System, the BJMP was created to address growing concern of jail management and penology problem. Primarily, its clients are detainees accused before a court who are temporarily confined in such jails while undergoing investigation, waiting final judgement and those who are serving sentence promulgated by the court 3 years and below. As provided for under R.A. No. 6975, the Jail Bureau is mandated to take operational and administrative control over all city, district and municipal jails. The Bureau has four major areas of rehabilitation program, namely: Livelihood Projects, Educational and Vocational Training, Recreation and Sports, and Religious/ Spiritual Activities. These were continuously implemented to eliminate the offenders’ pattern of criminal behaviour and to reform them to become law-abiding and productive citizens. Although the workplace of the Jail Bureau is confined inside the portals of jail to safeguard inmates, nonetheless, the Bureau has an inherent function of informing the public of jail operations and other matters concerning the corrections pillar of the Philippines. Coincidentally, being a new and growing Bureau, BJMP aims to keep the public abreast of information regarding jail management and penology.

Organizations and Key Positions
The Bureau of Jail Management and Penology, also referred to as the Jail Bureau, was created pursuant to Section 60 to 65, Chapter V, RA No. 6975, and initially consisting of uniformed officers and members of the Jail Management and Penology service as constituted under Presidential Decree No. 765. RA 9263 provides that the Bureau shall be headed by a Chief who is assisted by two (2) Deputy Chiefs, one (1) for Administration and another for Operations, and one (1) Chief of Directorial Staff, all of whom are appointed by the President upon the recommendation of the DILG Secretary from among the qualified officers with the rank of at least Senior Superintendent in the BJMP. The Chief of the BJMP carries the rank of Director and serves a tour of duty that must not exceed four (4) years, unless extended by the President in times of war and other national emergencies. Officers who have retired or are within six (6) months from their compulsory retirement age are not qualified to be appointed as Jail Director or designated as BJMP Chief. The second officer in command of the BJMP is the Deputy Chief for Administration, the third officer in command is the Deputy Chief for Operations, and the fourth officer in command is The Chief of the Directorial Staff, all of whom carry the rank of Chief Superintendent. They are assisted by the Directors of the Directorates in the National Headquarters who carry the rank of at least Senior Superintendent. The BJMP operates and maintains Regional Offices in each of the administrative regions of the country, headed by a Regional Director for Jail Management and Penology, with the rank of at least Senior Superintendent. The Regional Director is assisted by an Assistant Regional Director for Administration, Assistant Regional Director for Operations, and Regional Chief of Directorial Staff, who are all officers with the rank of at least Superintendent.

Our Core Values and Competence
 – Professionalism
T – Teamwork
E – Efficiency/Competence
C – Commitment
S – Self-Discipline

Core Competence
Continous Skills Enhancement of Personnel
Ability to Establish Linkages and Partnerships
Responsive Planning
Timely Decision Making

Expedient Implementation


With the ratification of the Bangsamoro Organic Law following a plebiscite on January 21, 2019 the abolition process of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) begins paving way for the formal creation of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region. The official turnover from the ARMM to the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region took place on February 26, 2019 which meant the full abolition of the former. On March 29, 2019, the inauguration of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao and the inaugural session of the Bangsamoro Parliament took place. Bangsamoro consist of 3 component cities, 116 municipalities, and 2,590 barangays. The city of Isabela despite being part of Basilan is not under the administrative jurisdiction of the autonomous region. Likewise, 63 barangays in North Cotabato also are part of Bangsamoro despite North Cotabato and their respective parent municipalities not under the administrative jurisdiction of the autonomous region. In the transition process, BJMP BARMM took over Cotabato City Jail during the Turn-over Ceremony with BJMP Regional Office XII on August 1, 2019. BJMP BARMM has jurisdiction to 3 City Jails, 4 District Jails and 2 Municipal Jails, and has on-going negotiation with the provincial governments for the merger of the Provincial Jails. The BJMP Regional Office, mandated to oversee and supervise the different jails is situated at Cotabato City